Race Report – USAP Morgan Hill Sprint

What an experience to have water back in the Uvas Reservoir and the ability for USA Productions to hold this beautiful sprint triathlon once again!

This was a major prep race for me as the distances were unique but similar to what I would experience at the Escape From Alcatraz triathlon coming in early June.

 131822-128-022h

With an early morning wake up in Soquel I headed up and over the hill into Morgan Hill on my solo trek. I knew plenty of fellow Santa Cruz Triathlon Association teammates who would also be racing and figured that a transition bike rack would be set aside for us.

 

As a USAP ambassador, I wanted to show up early and feel the excitement in the air of race morning. Slowly all of the racers started piling into transition and before we knew it our wetsuits were on and it was time to head down to the water.

 

Swim – .75 miles – 20:14

Feeling that my swimming has progressed from last year, or feeling stupid because it’s an early race, I started front row of the swim. As the horn went off I gunned it pretty hard to stay in front for the first 100 or so. Made it to the first buoy near the front and started coasting with a good cadence after that. The swim was a bit longer than I anticipated but I kept strong and was out of the water in under 20 minutes.

 131822-064-009h

T1 – 00:59

Up the ramp. Quickly disrobed from my wetsuit. Helmet on. Sunnies on and then off we go!

 

Bike – 16 miles – 45:23

By far my favorite part of any triathlon is the first 5 minutes in the bike. You’re soaking wet and just straight up smiling. Wade from Spokesman in Santa Cruz worked on my bike fitting with me and I was able to get a little lower and longer. I laid the hammer pretty hard during the ride and especially on the steep hill at mile 12ish. Yet another solid ride but some more speed could be beneficial.

 131822-099-007h

T2 – 00:32

Another favorite aspect of mine. Full speed dismount and quickly put on my Zoot slip ones and off I was going.

 

Run – 5 miles – 35:43

Off to a brisk 7:15 min/mile pace knowing that I wanted to negative split. As the leader came flying the other way, I never miss an opportunity for shout encouragement to the great athletes ahead of me. Patrick came flying the other way on his way to a 3rd place in our Age Group. I made the turn and on came the after burners. 6:50’s all the way back! Then with about a mile to go Jon Erskine passed me…that speedy devil!

 131822-030-031h

Summary

Total time of 1:42:53 which was good for 5th in my very competitive age group. This is an amazing race! Beautiful swim, bike course that is challenging but just short enough where you can drop the hammer the entire time and then a 5 mile run which is a bit deceiving.

 

Looking forward to racing this again come next year!

#USAProductions

#ReleaseTheKraken

#SCTA

#swimbikerun

USAP

