Big news in Santa Cruz!

I’m sure just about everybody has heard that the World Triathlon Corporation recently purchased the Big Kahuna and the Santa Cruz Half Marathon/10k/5k from Firstwave Events.

Very mixed feelings about this race as I really enjoy racing Ironman events, they’re put on very well, managed well and have plenty of swag to purchase and display. The downside is that Santa Cruz is known for the local races, the local feel and all of the work that the race directors who live here have done.

So with that said, I have now added Ironman 70.3 Santa Cruz to my “A” list this year, along with Finish Line Production’s Surf City Long Course (70.3) Triathlon in November to my “A” list.

Below is an article that I was interviewed for regarding the Ironman race. Enjoy!

http://www.mercurynews.com/sports/ci_27335130/ironman-set-host-santa-cruz-triathlon-september