Swim on!

When was the last time you felt great about a swim workout?
I mean really great…not just “I made it through and didn’t drown on the 3,500 yards”.
Believe it or not, I had one of those moments this past week. Unfortunately, it is during the taper week for Ironman 70.3 Lake Stevens on Sunday, August17th.
Another funny concept is that you get it determined in your head that this workout will be a breeze; a lightweight form workout in which you won’t go above Zone 3…then the guy in the next lane looks at your swim cap and gives you a funny look…..game on, dude!
Before I know it, I’m doing lap sprints with this dude. It is quite obvious that he’s been swimming for years and my amateur form cannot glide like his, so I opt for my own sprints to work on form while anaerobic breathing (or lack thereof). All of a sudden, I’m getting y bicep to my ear and busting out 40 second laps on a 25 meter pool!!! I know I’m no Michael Phelps, but for a 30 year old that just started swimming last year, this is a major milestone that I can continue to work on (and hone in for Pacific Grove Sprint).
Keep getting out there!!!! The only way you can get better is if you hit the pool consistently! You can feel yourself get smoother, better and faster!

