Race Report – 4/20/14 Silicon Valley Super Sprint

Image

Hosted by USA Productions. Moved from Uvas in Morgan Hill, CA to Half Moon Bay, CA.. .35 mile swim, 9.5 mile bike and 5K (haha – I laugh because you’ll read why).
Started at the front of the pack on the swim, but the water in HMB is a bit colder than Cowell’s Beach in Santa Cruz (where I train), so my pinky fingers started going numb and my sighting could have been better. Excited the water middle of the pack. Transition was a looooooong rectangle with the swim in and bike out on the same side…….my rack was the opposite site. Rack 35, so I had to run 35 racks to get my bike and then 35 racks back with the bike. But, I rocked the 9.5 mile ride in 26:01, only being passed by 1 guy with a full rear disc, so I didn’t feel that bad because he was a trooper. Quick T2 and excited in 5th place, hooked a right (guided by the cones) and started charging after the guy in front of me. We continued to run, chatting (he’s an UCSC banana slug) and curious if we were going the right way because there were no more cones, no volunteers and after 2 miles, no turnaround. So we turned around and after running to finish line, discovered that the volunteers guided 26 of the top sprinters in the opposite direction on the run (race director got our names and is giving us a full refund). So after a good 4.2+ mile run, I still ended up chugging up the hill and finishing 3rd in my age group!
Ending notes: Happy Easter, Go SCTA and this confirmed that Monterey Bay is the best place to live and to host a race!

Image

